The Cowichan Power and Sail Squadron was formed in 1959 as part of Vancouver Island District of the Canadian Power and Sail Squadrons. In 1996 it became part of the newly formed Vancouver Island Northern District which consists of ten squadrons from the Malahat to Port Hardy and Powell River. Geographically the Squadron serves an area from Mill Bay to Crofton, including the Duncan area, Cobble Hill, Shawnigan Lake and Lake Cowichan.